Newspapers

Grand Forks Herald Access

Access Online Articles:

• You can read articles from the Grand Forks Herald online through these databases:
  • America's News carries full-text articles from the Herald from 1987 to present
  • U.S. Newsstream Newspaper Database indexes and provides some full text from 1991-2015. Once you find an article, search for a physical copy or find a full-text digital version through America's News.
• If you need to access grandforksherald.com specifically for your research, the library can share temporary access:
  • Visit the library's 2nd floor Information Desk to get logged into the website
  • Search for articles using the search bar on the top left side of the page. For more advanced options, see next point.
• To do an advanced search for a specific topic or article in the Herald:
  • Search the Grand Forks Herald Website by going to Google and adding this phrase to the end of your keyword search: site:grandforksherald.com
  • For further assistance searching the grandforksherald.com, contact the Ask Us desk on the 2nd floor of the library.

Access Print Copies:

• Print copies of the Herald are also available in the library:
  • 1st Floor Newspaper rack (near the Oversized collection): current issues of the Herald, printed Saturday and Wednesday, as well as issues of the Bismarck Tribune and the Fargo Forum
  • 1st Floor Periodicals: latest 3 months of issues can be found here
  • 2nd Floor: To read the microfilm journals, place a request at the Ask Us desk.
  • 4th Floor Special Collections holds issues dating from 1916-1949, as well as issues of the Grand Forks Daily Herald dating back to 1881

Link to the Catalog Search for Grand Forks Herald titled items, including some print indexes

Print newspapers are located on the 1st Floor. Microfilm is in storage. Ask at the Service Desk on 2nd Floor for assistance.

Bismarck Tribune                    1873-2016 on microfilm plus current and previous 2 months in print. We no longer receive this title on microfilm.      

Fargo Forum                           1891-2016 on microfilm plus current and previous 2 months in print. We no longer receive this title on microfilm. 

Minot Daily News                    1917-2016 on microfilm with some gaps in coverage.

Grand Forks American            1918-1920 on microfilm

Grand Forks Herald                 1879- present.  Replaced by microfilm after 3 months

Grand Forks Plaindealer           1890-1905  on microfilm

Lakota Times                          1987-1990  on microfiche